A small UK high-street solicitors' office from outside, on a quiet market town street, an SRA-style brass plaque beside the door, sash windows, early morning light, someone in outline unlocking the do

How Redbrick, Osprey and Proclaim Charge for Conveyancing Case Management

8 min read

Redbrick Solutions, Osprey Approach and Access Legal Proclaim charge UK conveyancing firms in three different ways: a per-matter transaction fee, a published per-licence monthly fee, and an undisclosed quote-only price. A small firm should match its own caseload volatility to the charging shape before asking for numbers.

Written by Andrew McLean Studio Director at Disruptive Live

A small UK conveyancing firm choosing between Redbrick Solutions, Osprey Approach and Access Legal Proclaim is choosing a charging shape as much as a supplier. Redbrick charges per active matter, usually passed on to the client as a disbursement, or a fixed per-user fee. Osprey publishes a per-licence monthly price with a 36-month term. Proclaim publishes no price at all, so every firm has to ask.

Key pointers

  • Get Redbrick's current transaction fee and its alternative per-user rate in writing. Neither figure is published.
  • Get Proclaim's quotation in writing too. Access Legal's own product page carries no prices, plans or figures.
  • If you pick Osprey, budget for its standard 36-month agreement and the 5% price rise on each go-live anniversary.
  • Weigh your quietest month's matter count against your busiest. A per-matter fee moves with volume; a per-licence fee does not.
  • Check whether legal accounting is built in (Osprey) or needs a separate integration (Redbrick, via Klyant).
  • Confirm which Land Registry AP1 route each system actually uses. Redbrick states its own digital AP1; Osprey's runs through its InfoTrack integration.
  • Budget for Law Society Conveyancing Quality Scheme (CQS) accreditation separately. It costs from £170 a year and has nothing to do with your software bill.
  • Ask each vendor for two reference firms of a similar size before signing anything.
Where each system triggers its charge
The point in a conveyancing transaction where cost is actually incurred differs by vendor.

What Conveyancing Case Management Charging Actually Decides

A small firm's partner or office manager is not just buying software features here. They are picking which cost moves with the business and which one does not. A per-matter fee, like Redbrick's, rises and falls with completions. A per-licence fee, like Osprey's, is billed every month at the same rate whether a fee earner has ten live files or two. Proclaim sits outside both comparisons until a firm actually gets a quote, because Access Legal does not publish a charging structure to compare against.

This matters most for firms with seasonal or lumpy transaction volumes, which describes much of the UK conveyancing market: a slow winter, a stamp duty deadline rush, a fee earner on leave. A transactional model absorbs some of that swing automatically. A per-licence model does not, though it gives a firm a fixed number to put in next year's budget.

How Each System Fits a Conveyancing Transaction

All three products follow roughly the same shape: an enquiry or quote, a matter opened on instruction, milestone documents and searches through to exchange and completion, then billing and file closure. Where the systems differ is where the cost is triggered.

On Redbrick, the transaction fee is triggered when a matter becomes active, not at the quote stage, so a firm is not charged for enquiries that never convert to instructions (Redbrick Solutions). On Osprey and, presumably, on Proclaim once a firm has a quotation, the licence cost is triggered by the number of paying users set up on the system each month, regardless of how many matters those users are actually working. A fee earner on Osprey costs the same in a quiet month as a busy one.

Redbrick handles legal accounting through a named integration with Klyant rather than a built-in ledger, while Osprey bundles a full law office accounting suite, VAT submissions and client account billing into every published tier (Redbrick Solutions; Osprey Approach). That is a genuine operational difference for a small firm that does not want to run and reconcile two systems.

Pricing and Cost Model

None of the three vendors publishes a complete price a firm can budget against without contacting them, but the type of number each one withholds, or discloses, differs.

VendorCharging basisPublished priceCommitmentWhat it covers
Redbrick SolutionsPer active matter (transaction fee), or fixed per-user, per-month alternativeNot published; quoted per firmNot stated on the vendor's siteCase management, e-signing, Land Registry digital AP1, biometric AML, unlimited training, free upgrades and support
Osprey ApproachPer paying licence, per month (Advanced or Premium), or Enterprise on applicationAdvanced £110/licence/month; Premium £140/licence/monthMinimum 3 licences; standard 36-month term; 5% price rise each go-live anniversaryCase, practice and accounts management; client portal (add-on on Advanced, included on Premium); telephone-first support
Proclaim (Access Legal)Subscription, terms set per firmNot publishedNot stated on the vendor's siteGeneral legal case management across conveyancing and other practice areas, document and file management, time recording, accounting

Assumptions: the Osprey figures are the tiered, published monthly per-licence prices shown on its own pricing page, checked live on 29 September 2026, at the site's stated minimum order of three licences. Redbrick's and Proclaim's rows are what each vendor's own pages state about the charging basis; neither publishes a number.

To see what that means in cash terms, take a small firm buying Osprey at its stated minimum of three licences. Advanced comes to £330 a month (3 x £110), and Premium comes to £420 a month (3 x £140), both before any add-ons such as the £10-per-licence client portal on Advanced. Those are the only two numbers in this article a firm can put straight into a spreadsheet without first calling a vendor.

The chart below shows those two published Osprey figures side by side. Redbrick and Proclaim are not on it because neither vendor discloses a comparable number; a firm has to request one directly, which is itself a useful signal about how negotiable each price might be.

Vendor and Option Comparison

FactorRedbrick SolutionsOsprey ApproachProclaim (Access Legal)
Best fitConveyancing-only firms wanting a specialist, transactional systemFirms wanting case management, practice management and accounts in one productFirms wanting one system across conveyancing and other practice areas
Charging riskLow fixed risk in quiet months; cost scales with completionsFixed monthly cost regardless of matter volume, for the length of a 36-month termUnknown until quoted; cannot be compared on price alone
Legal accountingVia Klyant integrationBuilt in to every published tierIncluded, per the vendor's own feature list
Land Registry AP1Direct integration with Land Registry e-DRS for digital AP1Via InfoTrack integrationNot detailed on the vendor's public page
Training and supportUnlimited training and free support and maintenance stated by the vendorUnlimited online training and telephone-first support on every tierNot detailed on the vendor's public page
Who should not choose itA firm that wants one fixed number to put in a budget every monthA firm with very low or seasonal matter volumes locked into a 36-month termA firm that needs to compare a hard price before it will even take a meeting

None of these three is a universal winner. A high-volume conveyancing specialist with predictable staffing may prefer Osprey's flat, bundled cost. A firm with a volatile caseload, or one already using a separate accounting package, may prefer Redbrick's transactional model. A firm running conveyancing alongside several other practice areas has a reason to look at Proclaim's broader workflow coverage, but should not assume its pricing will land anywhere close to the other two until a quote is in hand.

Editorial Analysis

None of the three vendors' own pages give a directly comparable like-for-like price, so a firm cannot shortlist on cost alone from public information. The more useful exercise is matching the charging shape to the firm's actual transaction pattern before asking for quotes: a firm whose matter count swings by more than a third between its slowest and busiest months has a real financial reason to ask Redbrick for numbers first, because a per-matter fee is designed to move with that swing. A firm with stable, predictable headcount and caseload has less to lose from Osprey's flat per-licence structure, and gains a single published starting point to negotiate from. Proclaim's broader workflow scope across practice areas is a genuine differentiator for a firm that is not conveyancing-only, but it is not, on the evidence available, a reason on its own to pick it over a conveyancing specialist for a firm that only does conveyancing.

Sources

Data & Insights

Osprey Approach monthly cost at minimum order (3 licences)

Osprey's two published tiers at its stated minimum of three paying licences, billed monthly.

Osprey Approach monthly cost at minimum order (3 licences)Osprey's two published tiers at its stated minimum of three paying licences, billed monthly.£0.00£100.00£200.00£300.00£400.00£500.00Advanced (3 licences)Advanced (3 lic…Premium (3 licences)Premium (3 lice…Advanced (3 licences), Monthly cost (GBP): £330.00Premium (3 licences), Monthly cost (GBP): £420.00
View the data
Osprey Approach monthly cost at minimum order (3 licences)
CategoryMonthly cost (GBP)
Advanced (3 licences)£330.00
Premium (3 licences)£420.00
Source: Osprey Approach, price-plans page, checked live 29 September 2026

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Redbrick charge conveyancing clients directly for using the software?

Not directly. Redbrick charges the law firm a transaction fee for every active matter, and the firm typically passes that fee on to the buyer or seller as a disbursement on the client's bill, rather than the client paying Redbrick itself (Redbrick Solutions).

What is Osprey Approach's minimum contract?

Osprey's published pricing requires a minimum of three paying licences and a standard agreement term of 36 months, with licence prices increasing by 5% on each anniversary of the go-live date (Osprey Approach).

How much does Access Legal Proclaim cost?

The Access Group does not publish a price for Proclaim on its own product page. A firm has to book a consultation and request a quotation directly, so there is no published figure to compare against Redbrick or Osprey (The Access Group).

Can a small firm avoid passing Redbrick's transaction fee on to clients?

Yes. Redbrick's own page states it offers a fixed per-user, per-month fee as an alternative for firms that cannot or do not want to pass the transaction fee on as a client disbursement, alongside other unspecified flexible payment options (Redbrick Solutions).

Is CQS accreditation included in any of these software subscriptions?

No. Conveyancing Quality Scheme accreditation is a separate Law Society scheme, priced from £170 a year excluding VAT and set by firm size, quite apart from any case management software cost. Osprey and Redbrick both offer tools aimed at supporting CQS compliance, but neither vendor grants or includes the accreditation itself (The Law Society; Osprey Approach).

Which charging model suits a firm with an unpredictable caseload?

A per-matter model like Redbrick's is built to move with transaction volume, so it tends to suit firms whose caseload varies significantly month to month. A per-licence model like Osprey's charges the same fixed amount regardless of volume, which suits firms with stable staffing but adds risk in a quiet period. Proclaim cannot be assessed against either pattern until a firm has an actual quotation in hand.