A small UK solicitors' office in the late afternoon, a practice manager sitting at a desk with a closed laptop and a stack of paper folders, a frosted glass partition and rows of box files visible beh

Clio or LEAP for a Small UK Law Firm's Case Management and Client Accounts

8 min read

Clio publishes a UK starting price of £69 to £79 per user per month while LEAP is quote-only with independent estimates around £129 per user per month. Both build SRA-compliant client accounting into their core product, so the real differences for a small firm are cost transparency, contract terms and desktop versus browser deployment.

Written by Andrew McLean Studio Director at Disruptive Live

Clio publishes its UK Core plan price openly at £69 per user per month billed annually, or £79 billed monthly. LEAP publishes no price at all; you request a quote, and independent listings put its starting point at around £129 per user per month. Both platforms build SRA-compliant client accounting into the core product, so the real decision turns on cost transparency, contract flexibility and how each firm's caseload actually works day to day.

Key pointers

  • Clio's Core plan starts at £79 per user per month, or £69 per user per month on annual billing; Signature and Elite tiers are quote-only.
  • LEAP has no published price anywhere on its site; ask for a written quote and a breakdown of any one-off setup fee before you sign anything.
  • Get LEAP's contract length in writing. Independent reviews describe multi-year commitments as a trade-off for LEAP buyers, so check the minimum term against Clio's month-to-month option.
  • Both platforms build SRA Accounts Rules client and office ledgers, bank reconciliation and an audit trail into the core product, not as a bolt-on.
  • If your firm runs on Mac, test LEAP's desktop component before you commit; it is built for Windows and Mac users typically need a virtual Windows environment.
  • Ask both vendors exactly what data migration and staff training cost and who does the work, since this is where quote-only pricing hides real spend.
  • Both vendors support legal aid billing to the Legal Aid Agency; if you do legal aid work, confirm which plan tier includes it and how each handles your specific practice areas (criminal, civil or Crown Court).
How Client Money Flows Under the SRA Accounts Rules
Clio and LEAP both route client money through separate ledgers, five-weekly reconciliation and an audit trail before it reaches the SRA inspection record.

What the Decision Actually Involves

A small UK law firm choosing between Clio and LEAP is really choosing two things at once: a case management system to run matters, and a client accounting system to hold and reconcile money under the SRA Accounts Rules. Both vendors sell these as one product rather than two, which matters because bolting a case management tool onto separate accounting software (or onto Xero alone) does not satisfy the SRA's rules on its own. Xero and QuickBooks are general business accounting tools; they cannot maintain the client-and-office ledger split, matter-level client ledgers, or the five-weekly three-way reconciliation the SRA requires without a legal practice system sitting in front of them.

Clio is the newer entrant to the UK market, built around a modern browser-based interface with an increasingly AI-led feature set (Clio Duo, Clio Work) layered on top of matter management, billing and client accounting. As with any AI feature in a regulated practice, the SRA expects the firm's compliance officer to understand what that AI is doing with client data before it is relied on. LEAP has been selling into UK law firms considerably longer and is built specifically around UK and Irish practice, with a Windows desktop component alongside its cloud back end. Neither difference is inherently better; it depends on how your fee earners actually work, whether you are a Mac-first office, and how much you value transparent self-serve pricing over a sales-led quote process. If your firm also needs a dedicated document management system alongside case management, that is a separate purchase with its own comparison.

Pricing and Cost Model

Clio's UK pricing page states that Core starts at £79 per user per month, with no minimum number of users stated on the public pricing page. Clio's own comparison page breaks that figure down further, putting Core at £69 per user per month on annual billing, or £79 per user per month billed monthly. The Signature and Elite tiers, which add unlimited custom roles, AI-built reporting, multi-currency billing and (at Elite) the Clio Grow client-intake product, are quote-only, so a firm needing those features cannot get a final number without talking to sales.

LEAP takes the opposite approach. Its UK pricing page describes a single all-in-one plan with "no hidden costs or complex pricing tiers," but does not publish a number anywhere; you complete a form to get pricing. LEAP also flags that "a one-time setup fee may apply to cover data migration, software configuration, and onboarding," which is a cost Clio folds into its subscription rather than billing separately. An independent software marketplace listing for LEAP gives a third-party starting-price estimate of around £129 per user per month, roughly double Clio's published Core price, though neither LEAP nor that marketplace confirms exactly what the figure includes or which edition it applies to.

Cost elementClioLEAP
Entry price£69/user/month (annual) or £79/user/month (monthly), publishedNot published; third-party estimate around £129/user/month
Higher tiersSignature and Elite, quote-onlySingle plan, "unlimited capability," quote-only
Setup/onboardingIncluded in subscriptionOne-time setup fee "may apply"
Billing commitmentMonth-to-month or annual, your choiceNot published; confirm in writing
Minimum contract termNone stated; no penalty for reducing licencesNot published; independent reviews note some LEAP contracts run multi-year
VAT treatmentNot stated on pricing pageNot stated on pricing page

Treat both sides of that table as a starting point for negotiation, not a final bill. Because neither vendor states whether quoted figures include VAT, add that question to your supplier checklist along with what a mid-year headcount change does to the price, and whether add-ons like Clio Grow, Clio Draft or LEAP's AI tools are bundled or extra.

Vendor and Option Comparison

Both platforms build SRA-compliant client accounting into their core product: separate client and office ledgers, bank reconciliation, and an audit trail. Clio's client accounting features include reconciliation directly against a bank statement inside the Accounts tab, low-balance alerts, and integration with Xero, QuickBooks Online and Klyant for the general ledger. LEAP's accounting features add a Transaction Request approval workflow, where a fee earner requests a payment and a designated approver authorises it before it leaves the firm, plus integration with Xero and QuickBooks Online.

CriterionClioLEAP
DeploymentBrowser-based, any device including Mac; iOS/Android appCloud back end plus a Windows desktop component; Mac users typically need a virtual Windows environment
SRA client accountingBuilt in, part of Core planBuilt in, part of the single plan
Reconciliation workflowIn-app matching against bank statementsAutomated bank reconciliation plus transaction approval workflow
General ledger integrationXero, QuickBooks Online, KlyantXero, QuickBooks Online
Free trial7 days, no card requiredDemo on request, no self-serve trial
Pricing transparencyCore price published; higher tiers quote-onlyFully quote-only
Contract flexibilityMonth-to-month or annual, no minimum term statedNot published; confirm minimum term and setup fee in writing

Clio suits a firm that wants a published starting price to plan against, is comfortable working entirely in a browser, and wants Xero, QuickBooks or Klyant to handle general business accounting alongside client funds. It is a weaker fit if your fee earners rely heavily on document automation that assumes deep Microsoft Word integration, since Clio's document tools sit behind the separate Clio Draft add-on. LEAP suits a firm already committed to a Windows desktop environment, that values a longer UK track record and wants document automation, time recording and accounting tightly bound together from day one; it is a weaker fit for a Mac-first office or a firm that wants to know its monthly cost before booking a sales call. Neither vendor's accounting module replaces a bookkeeper for VAT returns, payroll or year-end accounts; both still hand that work to Xero or QuickBooks Online.

Editorial Analysis

Cost transparency should carry real weight in this decision precisely because both products do the compliance-critical job (SRA-compliant client accounting) adequately. Clio's willingness to put a number on its website, even for just the entry tier, gives a small firm something to budget against before a sales conversation starts. LEAP's insistence on a quote for every enquiry is a common pattern in legal software, but it shifts negotiating leverage toward the vendor and makes it harder to compare like for like across suppliers without doing the legwork this article has done. A practice manager evaluating either system should ask for the full quote, including setup fees and the minimum contract term, in writing before assuming the published or estimated starting price is what the firm will actually pay in year one.

Sources

Data & Insights

Starting price per user per month, GBP

Clio publishes its Core plan price; LEAP does not, so its figure is a third-party marketplace estimate.

Starting price per user per month, GBPClio publishes its Core plan price; LEAP does not, so its figure is a third-party marketplace estimate.£0.00£50.00£100.00£150.00Clio Core (annual)Clio Core (annu…Clio Core (monthly)Clio Core (mont…LEAP (third-party estimate)LEAP (third-par…Clio Core (annual), Price per user per month: £69.00Clio Core (monthly), Price per user per month: £79.00LEAP (third-party estimate), Price per user per month: £129.00
View the data
Starting price per user per month, GBP
CategoryPrice per user per month
Clio Core (annual)£69.00
Clio Core (monthly)£79.00
LEAP (third-party estimate)£129.00
Source: Clio UK pricing; GetApp

SRA-regulated solicitor firms by structure, June 2026

The buyer segment for Clio and LEAP is concentrated among sole practitioners and partnerships alongside incorporated firms.

SRA-regulated solicitor firms by structure, June 2026The buyer segment for Clio and LEAP is concentrated among sole practitioners and partnerships alongside incorporated firms.Incorporated company58.7% (58.7%)LLP15.9% (15.9%)Sole practitioner14.9% (14.9%)Partnership10.2% (10.2%)Other0.3% (0.3%)
View the data
SRA-regulated solicitor firms by structure, June 2026
CategoryShare of SRA-regulated firms
Incorporated company58.7%
LLP15.9%
Sole practitioner14.9%
Partnership10.2%
Other0.3%
Source: Solicitors Regulation Authority

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Clio or LEAP cost less for a small UK law firm?

Clio's Core plan starts at £79 per user per month, or £69 on annual billing, which is lower than the roughly £129 per user per month that a third-party marketplace listing estimates for LEAP's entry point. Neither figure is guaranteed to be your final price once setup fees, add-ons and your firm's specific requirements are quoted, so treat both as a starting reference rather than a locked number.

Is Clio SRA compliant for client accounting?

Yes. Clio's UK client accounting features are built around separate client and office ledgers, bank reconciliation and audit-ready reporting in line with the SRA Accounts Rules. You still need to configure it correctly for your firm and run the five-weekly reconciliation the rules require; the software provides the tools, not automatic compliance.

Why doesn't LEAP publish its price?

LEAP's UK pricing page states its model is "per-user, per-month" with "no hidden costs" but requires you to complete a form to see a number. This is common among UK legal software vendors selling a bundled, configurable product, but it means you cannot compare LEAP against Clio's published price without contacting sales and getting a written quote covering both the subscription and any setup fee.

Can a Mac-based firm run LEAP properly?

LEAP's desktop component is built for Windows. According to an independent LEAP review, Mac users typically need a virtual Windows environment to use the full desktop application, which adds cost and complexity. If your firm is Mac-first, test this in a demo before committing, or weigh Clio, which runs entirely in a browser on any device.

Does either platform handle legal aid billing?

Yes, both do. Clio's legal aid product page covers Criminal Controlled, Civil Controlled and Civil Certificated legal aid matters for solicitors in England and Wales, with in-app legal aid rates, codes and threshold alerts, and Clio states this feature "comes as standard across all Clio plans." LEAP's legal aid module covers Criminal Legal Aid claims through the police station, Magistrates' Court, appeals and Crown Court (LGFS/AGFS) stages, and LEAP submits both Civil and Criminal claims electronically to the Legal Aid Agency via CWA, its bulk claims portal. If legal aid work is a meaningful part of your caseload, ask both vendors for the current scope of their Legal Aid Agency integration and exactly which plan tier includes it, since billing rules and submission formats change.

How disruptive is switching case management systems for an ongoing caseload?

Migrating matters, client ledgers and historic accounting records between systems is real work, not a weekend task, and it is the main reason firms delay switching even when they are unhappy with their current system. Clio includes data migration and training in its subscription; LEAP may charge a separate one-time setup fee for the same work. Ask both vendors for a written migration plan and timeline, and budget staff time for reconciling opening balances before go-live, regardless of which platform you choose.